A Sticky Situation

Black Lightning, my first large piece from the academic semester, was completed last week. It is a four foot tall bike stand was created to highlight the formal beauty of a 1989 Cannondale bicycle. This piece has been very important to me because it was developed from my love of cycling. Last monday the piece was nearing completion, and I thought I had passed all the hurdles of construction. The piece was due Wednesday and I was rushing to assemble the parts of my piece Monday evening. During the glue up process I ran in to some serious issues with the right and left legs fitting correctly. The cauls I had created to put correct pressure on the legs began to fail at a critical point during the glue up. After spending five minutes trying to get the tenon joints to close I realized that it wasn’t going close completely. I ended up having to frantically take the legs off at the last minute before the glue began to cure. Luckily, I pried the glue covered joinery out of the legs before it completely dried. This mishap put a serious damper on my mood. I had no extra time to deal with the problem of the glue up never mind time to clean up glue covered joinery.

I now view this experience as a valuable lesson in planning. I knew the legs fit on flush with the stand body before, but I never checked the clamp cauls. I was rushing, and I would have saved valuable time in the end if I had slowed down and planned my glue up properly. After an hour or so of cleaning up and a re-designing the clamp cauls, I attempted the glue up once again. To my relief, the leg joints closed up wonderfully and it was a great feeling knowing that this time the job was done right. Finishing the rest of the bike stand went smoothly and I have just recently installed it with another piece from earlier this year in the school BFA show.The ball is really rolling in the studio now. Bring on the final projects!

Leave a Reply

