Sketch behind the Scenes

How do I travel from an initial creative challenge to a completed solution? Lately I have had a chance to reflect on this design process and become aware of the steps involved. It is initially apparent that I do things in a linear way. Projects are completed in a series of steps and each step concludes with a critique. I am constantly developing / exploring, then analyzing / editing. This work method I utilise has advantages and disadvantages. An upside of working along a path is the understanding of time. It is clear where the project came from and where it is headed. As an organized person, time can be form of mental clarity. A schedule keeps me calm and focused. Although a linear process does also include some disadvantages. I often wonder if my mechanical way of working inhibits  creative freedom. Could working on a schedule make me a worse designer? I do not think it is necessarily true in all cases. My defense descends from researching the process of other designers. It seems that even in a corporate setting there is always an opportunity to explore wild possibilites. whether this opportunity is utilized or not is dependent on the individual. The sketching process is the area within a linear process that offers the most room for experimentation (diverse ideas are generated most numerously). Below is an example of concept sketches for a corporate identity. 

The opportunity that resides in the sketching process is what causes me to emphasize this part of my personal process. The time invested in sketching is the most valuable. Putting ideas physically on paper allows me to edit and evolve my ideas. The end result is usually something I never initially expected,but always something stronger conceptually. By understanding the design process I have learned more about the design I see and the design I create. In the future, I can further question my process with the hopes of discovering new ways of thinking. With process in mind, artistic athleticism can only continue to grow.

Leave a Reply

